[Archive] Special Session on Emerging Security Technologies – AHS 2018

We invite you to submit papers to the special session on Emerging Security Technologies of the 12th edition of the NASA/ESA Conference on Adaptive Hardware and Systems (AHS), to be held at the University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, United Kingdom.

Important Dates

Submission DeadlineJuly 2, 2018
Notification – July 11, 2018
Camera Ready – July 19, 2018


Papers are limited to 6 pages and should be submitted in single-spaced, double column, 10 point type on an 8.5″ X 11″ or equivalent paper with 1″ margins on all sides based on the IEEE template. Accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings and submitted to the IEEE Xplore.

Authors should please visit EasyChair to submit papers.

Scope and Topics

The special session invites security-oriented contributions in information technologies, robotics, cognitive systems, biotechnologies, and nanotechnologies. Previous editions included papers in biometrics and forensics, personal mobile/ wireless security, robotic and unmanned vehicle system security, internet and cyber-security, security of critical infrastructure systems, emergency response systems, and hybrid security systems. Papers on the security of emerging fields like the internet of things, pervasive computing and body wearable health devices can also be submitted. Papers may present advances in the theory, design, implementation, analysis, verification, or empirical evaluation and measurement of secure systems.

Relevant topics include (but not limited to):

  • Access control and authorisation
  • Accountability
  • Anonymity
  • Application security
  • Attacks and defences
  • Authentication
  • Cloud security
  • Distributed systems security
  • Embedded systems security
  • Forensics
  • Security architectures
  • Usable security and privacy
  • Security and privacy policies
  • Hardware security
  • Intrusion detection and prevention
  • Malware and unwanted software
  • Mobile and Web security and privacy

Programme Committee

Gareth Howells, University of Kent
Klaus Mcdonald-Maier, University of Essex
Charlie Frowd, University of Central Lancashire
Mohamed Aly, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
Virgil Adumitroaie, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Julian Murphy, University of Kent